Hotel in Beamish Valley, near County Durham

Reasons to Visit ...

Halfway between Durham City and Newcastle, set in 100 acres of the beautiful Beamish Valley in the Vale of Durham, lies South Causey Inn - an independent hotel with luxury accommodation, flexible event spaces, and a rustic restaurant. It is easy to visit South Causey Inn with excellent local transport links with Newcastle airport, Durham, Chester-le-Street and Newcastle train stations, bus stops outside the door, 24 hour taxi services – if you are still stuck we can even arrange transport in our RIP gin car! Please make our home your home and explore the beautiful North East England.

Top Local Events in July ...

Saturday 7th July 2018 - Dog Walk Club

Wednesday 11th July - Saturday 14th July 2018 - Tall Ships Race

Friday 13th July - Sunday 22nd July 2018 - Durham Brass Festival

Saturday 14th July 2018 - Durham Miners Gala

Thursday 12th July - Sunday 15th July 2018 - Beamish Museums Festival of the 50’s

Friday 20th July - Monday 3rd September 2018 - Summer Holiday Kids Go Free

Saturday 28th July 2018 - Ladies Day at Newcastle Racecourse

Top Local Events in Later in the Year...

Sunday 19th August 2018- Durham County Cricket Club Grand Slam

Friday 24th August 2018 - Acoustic Night 

Sunday 9th September 2018 - Great North Run

Friday 14th September 2018 - South Causey Comedy Club 

December 2018 - South Causey Inn's Christmas Events Begin

Friday 21st December 2018 - South Causey Comedy Club 

More coming soon...

How to find us

From the south:

  • Exit the A1(M) at Junction 63
  • Follow the A693 signposted 'Stanley' and Beamish Museum
  • At the Beamish Museum roundabout continue forward up the hill
  • At the top of the hill turn right following signposts to Gateshead and the A6076
  • You will arrive at a junction with a petrol station on your left. Turn right
  • South Causey is 300 yards along this road on your right

From the north:

  • While travelling south on the A1 you will pass the Metro Centre on your left
  • Follow signs for Consett on the A692
  • You will pass through the village of Sunniside
  • At the second set of traffic lights (with the Potters Wheel Public House on the left) turn left
  • Follow this road for approx 3 miles
  • The South Causey is on your left (before you reach the 30mph signs)